How to Program Drums if you're NOT a Drummer

This post introduces drum programming from a beginner’s perspective because, as a beginner, I’m an expert! It’s a collection of things to think about if you’re not used to thinking about programming instruments like drums.

Before getting started look around at the tools you have available. How are you going to input MIDI data? Are you going to use an electronic drum kit, a drum pad, or a piano roll? I will assume most of you will only have what the DAW provides, the piano roll. It looks like this :point_down:

Ok keep looking, do you have any MIDI drum sample packs? Having these can save you valuable time generating ideas or in the mixing stages of production (many come pre-mixed). Sometimes all you need is an inspirational jump start and these pre-loaded loops can easily be tweaked to your liking. The key thing to note in this stage is that getting good-sounding drums starts with having good-sounding samples. For reference, I mainly use Toontrack’s Superior Drummer 2 for metal (there is a newer version available), which has plenty of expansion packs available, depending on your taste. I bought Metal Foundry a while back.

Ok, onto the programming part.